Weeks 26 and 27 In Review

Before going through the boring stats (which are mainly for my use and reference), a little update on the bike situation.

We’ve discovered that the top tube is too long for me. According to some online calculators I should be riding a total top tube of 61-63cm (top tube + stem). The top tube on my bike is 56.3cm, leaving room for a 5-7cm stem! The shorter the stem, the more ‘twitchy’ the steering apparently. Things have been moving in the right direction over the past month – with me moving from an 11cm stem down to 9cm, but ultimately not far enough yet. As I type I’m waiting for a 60mm stem to turn up to see whether I can actually steer it or not.

Ultimately a new bike is required but its far too close to Outlaw and this is desperate times. Hopefully the 60mm stem works out, and then bike shopping can commence after Outlaw. I’m also regretting not paying for next day delivery. As luck would have it every time I’ve ordered from this particular website the goods have turned up virtually the next day – of course with the exception of this order which I really need!

Week 26 Reviewed

I had planned to get in 3 swim sessions (done), 5 cycles (managed 3) and 3 runs (managed 2). I had to throw in an additional rest day. I think at this stage in training my body is now on its last legs and desperate for the taper. A mini victory of 3 laps of the open water swim course. There is some debate of whether the loop is 800m, 850m or 900m. I started erring on the side of caution, so this means 1.5 miles swum, or if 900m is to be believed its much closer to the 2 mile marker. I’m also starting to feel a little faster in the water, and the wetsuit isn’t nearly as hard work as it was 3 weeks ago. I think the 3 laps took just shy of an hour.

The only other significant event from the week was the KiloToGo sportive which was aimed at beginners. I’d only really signed up to give some motivation to Rox to get her out on her bike. However with rain and wind coming in all directions Rox very wisely side-stepped the event. I though was an idiot and went along. It was a 42 mile ride, and after 30 miles I was soaked through and freezing. And they saved all the hills for the final 10 miles.

Totals:
Swim (3 sessions, 5.6km, ~2hr 20m)
Bike (3 sessions, 82 miles, 6hr 36m)
Run (2 sessions, 16.75 miles, 2hr 46m)
Total Time: 11 hours 02 mins

Week 27 Reviewed

This week isn’t completely finished. It should be finishing the ‘training’ part of the plan with a 80 mile bike ride, but due to the non-arrival of my stem I’m delaying that ride due to not wanting to increase any back pain. I’m also at this stage thinking of just missing the ride altogether and just attaching a little extra onto each of the rides left, erring on the side of caution with energy use.

This week didn’t really have a plan as I was on holiday from work so the weeks structure completely changed. What I did plan to do was take a slight rest from the bike whilst the problems were being ironed out.

Totals (with 1 brick session to come – gym based spinning bike followed by 15 min run which will happen tomorrow):
Swim (3 sessions, 3.36 miles, ~2 hours)
Bike (1 session, 20 miles, 1hr 22)
Run (2 session, 24.21 miles, 3hr 57m)
Total Time: 7hr 19m (+ 1hr 30m tomorrow)

Week 28 In Planning

This week concludes with a 2 mile swim ‘race’. I’m using this to gauge the pace I’ll be swimming at Outlaw in 3 weeks time. The long bike will be pushed back to Tuesday as I’m off work and saves transporting the bike to the event. Sunday and Monday will probably be used as rest days.

Day AM Lunch PM
Mon
Tue Pool Swim Cycle Home
Wed OW Swim (2 laps) Run – 13 Miles
Thu Cycle to Work Cycle Home
Fri OW Swim – 2 laps Cycle Home + Brick
Sat Great East 2 Mile Swim Short Run
Sun

Leave a comment