That’s (a bit) Better

So after a blog post 2 weeks ago, things were on the up. And then a cold struck. Managed to plod on through some training, but ultimately it wasn’t the week I had planned. Still, it gave me yet more time to think about a training plan, and yep, change my mind once again. I dug out ‘The Triathletes Training Bible’ by Joe Friel. This book is a tomb, and I bought it when first getting into triathlons. At that time though it was too detailed (and arguably still is!) for my numpty attempts to get round my first sprint tri.

image

But still, I’ve persevered and have actually created a year long training plan. The next 3 weeks or so sees some prep work before actually diving in and starting a period of nearly 3 months base work. But before pressing on, a quick refresh on the week that was.

Last Weeks Training

I adopted the mind set for just trying to get the training sessions in, and not concentrating too much on the content – i.e. getting to the swimming pool and having a dip rather than considering too much about what to do.

With 2 running races at the weekend, running unsurprisingly took priority and sadly cycling took a back seat. A total of 4hr 30m of training though is someway down on the 8hr 30m planned for prep training.

Racing

I did NHRR First Saturday of the Month 5k and got round in an ‘unofficial’ 25m 06s, some 14 seconds faster than last month. Felt much more comfortable this month though, and the course has some very off-road and muddy sections, so month-by-month comparisons aren’t the greatest. Still feel a bit off the pace though but things appear to be moving in the right direction.

image

image

Sunday saw Stevenage Half Marathon, something I’d been hoping to train for but ultimately never really got round to! With no idea of what shape I was in I decided to set off for 9 min miling and hope to end the race inside 2 hours. However I felt strong for the first 6 miles and regularly posted 8 min miles (some even began with a 7, even if only just!). I knew that it wouldn’t last though and the 2nd lap was much harder work. I managed to keep all the mile splits under 9 minutes though (including sprinting for the end of Mile 12!). Getting round in 1hr 49m is a cracking result, just slightly disappointed as mentally adding the splits together in my head on the course I thought I may have been finishing in 1hr 47-1hr 48.

image

image

image

Another cracking event by Fairlands Valley Spartans though, and will be attending again next year!

This Weeks Plan

Day Period Session
Tue AM Turbo – Recovery 30 mins
  Evening NHRR Session
Wed AM Swim
  Evening Turbo – Recovery
Thu AM Turbo – Session
  Lunch Run – Recovery
Fri Lunch Run – Recovery
  Evening Swim – FreedomTri
Sat AM Long Run
  Lunch Turbo – Recovery
Sun AM Long Bike

Leave a comment